The Union


The Universal Postal Union (UPU), a United Nations body created in 1874, is the second oldest international and organization worldwide after the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). With 192 member countries, the UPU is the main cooperation forum between the stakeholders of the postal services sector, as it ensures accurate universal postal products and services network.

The UPU has an advisory, mediation, and liaison role and provides, if required, technical assistance to its member countries, particularly developing countries.

It sets the rules for international mail exchanges and makes recommendations to stimulate the increase of letter, package and financial services volumes and to improve the quality of service offered to the world’s citizens.

The UPU is made up of 4 key bodies

  • The Congress
  • The Executive Board (EB)
  • The Postal Operations Council (POC)
  • The International Bureau (IB)

2 cooperatives

  • The Telematic Cooperative
  • The EMS Cooperative

Côte d’Ivoire has been a member of this organization since May 23, 1961.