The organization

Proud of the privilege of hosting the 27th Universal Postal Congress in 2021 and aware of all the resulting challenges, Côte d’Ivoire and its postal sector are actively preparing. On 12 December 2018, the Government adopted Decree No. 2018-927 establishing, organizing and operating the National Organizing Committee (NOC) in charge of organizing the Universal Postal Congress in August 2021.

The National Organizing Committee of Côte d’Ivoire is composed of the following bodies:

  • A National Steering and Impulse Committee (CNOI), chaired by His Excellency the Prime Minister;
  • A National Steering Committee (COPIL), chaired by the Minister in charge of the Post Office, including a Permanent Secretariat for the Organisation (SPO) and a Scientific Committee (CS).

The SPO is the body responsible for implementing the work program adopted by COPIL, to which it reports periodically. It will include 12 commissions:

  • A Diplomacy and External Relations Committee;
  • A Reception, Protocol and Visas Committee;
  • A Security Committee;
  • A Transport Committee;
  • A Budget and Finance Committee;
  • A Health and Hygiene Committee;
  • A Safety Committee;
  • An Animation, Tourism and Culture Committee;
  • A Logistics Committee;
  • An ICT committee
  • A Communication and Press Relations Committee;
  • An Accommodation and Food and Beverage Commission.

The Scientific Committee is the body responsible for coordinating scientific activities and technical considerations for Côte d’Ivoire’s contribution to the work of the Congress Bureau. Its organization is structured around the following questions:

  • The organization of plenary sessions on general policies and the development of the world postal strategy
  • Universal postal service, remuneration, and regulation of the sector
  • Postal operations

The Scientific Committee is subdivided into 6 committees that will support the Congress Bureau

  • Committee 1: in charge of supporting the verification of credentials
  • Committee 2: responsible for supporting the review and evaluation of financial resources to carry out the mandates of the Congress
  • Committee 3: responsible for supporting the handling of policy issues and managing the work of the Congress
  • Committee 4: in charge of supporting the definition of the orientation of the Ministerial Conference
  • Committee 5: in charge of supporting the processing of issues related to postal payment services
  • Committee 6: responsible for supporting the development of cooperation policy