Culture

After Côte d’Ivoire was declared as an independent country in 1960, the government’s option in favor of culture was to identify and promote our cultural heritage in both its richness and diversity.

The implementation of this vast inventory program of Ivorian cultural heritage has made it possible to identify thousands of intangible cultural properties, thousands of antiquities and a very rich collection of artistic and cultural objects throughout the Ivorian territory.

Aside from this achievement, it has resulted in significant achievements :

  • At the level of the organic framework, we may mention Law No. 87-806 of 28 July 1987, on the protection of cultural heritage, and Law No. 96-564 of 25 July 1996, on the protection of intellectual works and their beneficiaries, in order to guarantee an institutional and legal framework for the regulation, organization and development of Ivorian culture.
  • With regard to the promotion of Côte d’Ivoire’s wide heritage, the enhancement of heritage elements that have been awarded the UNESCO label, such as the historic city of Grand-Bassam, Djéguélé (practice and cultural expression of the Senoufo communities of Côte d’Ivoire) and Zaouli, popular music and dance of the Gouro communities, has increased the visibility of cultural tourism development and increased the income from related activities.

Today, Côte d’Ivoire’s cultural influence at the international level has been made possible thanks to its dynamism in artistic and cultural expression, through the multiplicity of festivals specific to each region, as well as its participation in major international cultural events.

This cultural dynamism has enabled our countries’ cultural policy rating agencies to rank Côte d’Ivoire among the best performing countries in Africa and the ACP countries.

Thus, at the Cinema level, our country ranks in
5th position, after Nigeria, South Africa, Morocco, and Egypt. In terms of copyright management, the Bureau Ivoirien du Droit d’Auteur (BURIDA), which went bankrupt in 2011, ranks third according to the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC), after South Africa and Algeria in terms of the volume of rights collected and distributed to artists.

The Executive Secretariat of the ACP countries, at its last conference of Ministers of Culture in Brussels in December 2017, cited our country as the 4th ACP country with a dynamic cultural and creative industry, after Nigeria, South Africa, and Morocco. Our country was warmly congratulated on this occasion.

In any case, Côte d’Ivoire remains a major cultural and artistic site because throughout its territory there are many cultural expressions, thousands of antiquities and a very large collection of artwork that are constantly updated by our archaeologists and historians.

The Ivorian Government gives great importance to the safeguarding and transmission of its heritage, which remains not only useful for the country’s respect and intercultural dialogue but also adds a fairly considerable economic value to its development.

As proof, the field of culture contributes 3.8% to the GDP of our country. Culture is, therefore, an essential and important sector that keeps pace with our prodigious development.

 

Maurice Kouakou BANDAMAN

Come to Côte d'Ivoire

Après que la Côte d’Ivoire eut accédé à l’indépendance en 1960, l’option gouvernementale en faveur de la Culture a été, d’identifier et de promouvoir notre patrimoine culturel aussi bien dans sa richesse que dans sa diversité.

La réalisation de ce vaste programme d’inventaire du patrimoine culturel ivoirien a permis de recenser des milliers de biens culturels immatériels, de milliers d’antiquités et une très riche collection d’objets artistiques et culturels sur l’ensemble du territoire ivoirien.

Au-delà de cette réalisation, il en a résulté des acquis énormes :

  • Au niveau du cadre organique, ce sont, la loi nº87-806 du 28 juillet 1987, portant protection du patrimoine culturel, et celle n°96-564 du 25 juillet 1996, relative à la protection des œuvres de l’esprit et à leurs ayants droits, afin de garantir un cadre institutionnel et juridique à la réglementation, à l’organisation et au développement de la culture Ivoirienne.
  • Au niveau de la promotion du riche patrimoine ivoirien, la mise en valeur des éléments patrimoniaux « labélisés UNESCO », tels que la ville Historique de Grand-Bassam, le Djéguélé (pratique et expression culturelle des communautés senoufo de la Côte d’Ivoire) et le Zaouli, musique et danse populaires des communautés Gouro, a permis une visibilité plus accrue du développement du tourisme culturel et l’accroissement des recettes liées aux activités connexes.

Aujourd’hui, le rayonnement culturel de la Côte d’Ivoire au plan international a été possible grâce à son dynamisme dans l’expression artistique et culturel, à travers la multiplicité des festivals propres à chaque région, ainsi que la participation de la Côte d’Ivoire aux grands événements culturels internationaux.

Ce dynamisme culturel a permis aux organismes de notation de la politique culturelle de nos pays, de classer la Côte d’Ivoire parmi les pays les plus performants d’Afrique et des ACP.

Ainsi, au niveau du Cinéma, notre pays se classe en 5ème position, après le Nigeria, l’Afrique du Sud, le Maroc et l’Egypte. Au niveau de la gestion des droits d’auteurs, le Bureau Ivoirien du Droit d’Auteur, (BURIDA) en faillite en 2011, se classe, d’après la Confédération Internationale des Sociétés d’Auteurs et Compositeurs
(CISAC), en 3ème position, après l’Afrique du Sud et l’Algérie en volume de droits perçus et distribués aux
artistes.

Le Secrétariat Exécutif des pays ACP, au cours de sa dernière conférence des Ministres de la Culture à
Bruxelles, en décembre 2017, a cité notre pays comme le 4ème pays des ACP, ayant une industrie culturelle et
créative dynamique, après le Nigeria, l’Afrique du Sud et le Maroc. Notre pays a été vivement félicité à cette
occasion.

En tout état de cause, la Côte d’Ivoire demeure un gisement culturel et artistique d’importance majeure car d’un bout à l’autre de son territoire, il existe de multiples expressions culturelles, des milliers d’antiquités et une très grande collection d’objets d’arts mises à jour continuellement par nos archéologues et historiens.

Le Gouvernement ivoirien accorde une grande importance à la sauvegarde et à la transmission de son  patrimoine qui demeure non seulement utile au respect et au dialogue interculturel du pays, mais ajoute une valeur économique assez considérable pour son développement.
Pour preuve le domaine de la Culture contribue pour 3,8% au PIB de notre pays. La Culture est donc est secteur essentiel et important qui rythme la cadence de notre développement prodigieux.

 

Maurice Kouakou BANDAMAN

Venir en Côte d'Ivoire